• Light A Candle

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog!

    Join 1,386 other followers

  • Blog Archive

  • Recent Posts

  • Share this blog

    Bookmark and Share
  • Categories

  • del.icio.us

  • Blog with Integrity

    BlogWithIntegrity.com

  • Facebook Badge

  • Javarain

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • April 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Blog Stats

    • 15,190 hits

President Obama’s Birth Announcement and Mine

Stanley Armour Dunham, Ann Dunham, Maya Soetor...

Obama with his mother, sister and grandfather

Poor Donald Trump.

It appears that his parents may not have entered a ‘Birth Announcement‘ in the local paper when he was born, and suddenly that’s all he’s talking about!

Actually, a lot of people are talking and blogging about ‘Birth Announcements’ these days, and asking me if mine was in the local newspaper, which it was! Wasn’t yours?

If so, we share something in common with our President, Barack Hussein Obama, whose Birth Announcement appeared in the local newspapers in Hawaii in 1961.

Before I understood that this was the norm back then, at least in Hawaii, I was thinking there was another reason why little Barack’s mother might have put that formal announcement in the paper.

Possibly the same reason my mother put mine in: To legitimize my birth, authenticating my legality as a child of my father who was already gone from our life.

I wondered if Ann, Barack’s mother sensed those same stirrings in her husband and felt the same satisfaction knowing that at least in the newspaper, Barack Hussein was his father’s child.

My mother endured years of shame and slander because she had me and no visible husband. The birth announcement with a husband’s name didn’t seem to make a difference.

I guess it’s the same with President Obama, even a Birth Certificate doesn’t seem to make a difference, and co-incidentally, many of the same types of people are doing the slandering.

I guess both the President and I have some work to do as we forgive those who slander our mothers and ourselves.

To see the link to Birth Certificate:

http://www.factcheck.org/elections-2008/born_in_the_usa.html

4 Responses

  1. Wonderful post, Mary! And thanks for the link. It will be one of my bookmarks.

    • It’s the first place I check when I hear a wild rumor. I hope it serves you well!

  2. Thank you Mary for fighting the fight I am too tired to fight! I love you and cherish these posts. I have much more to say and hope to write you soon.

    • I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

