• Light A Candle

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog!

    Join 1,461 other followers

  • Blog Archive

  • Recent Posts

  • Share this blog

    Bookmark and Share
  • Categories

  • del.icio.us

  • Blog with Integrity

    BlogWithIntegrity.com

  • Facebook Badge

  • Javarain

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Blog Stats

    • 15,220 hits

Fact vs. Fiction

Fact-checking statements

I have very little patience for liars. In fact, if God were not such a strong force in my life, I can see ‘Integrity’ becoming my idol. I try to hold myself to a high standard of integrity as well.

But, like a recovering drug addict, I’m aware that my passion for the ‘drug’ of truth, can hurt people, steam rolling over their feelings, sacrificing loving kindness.

I understand that there are people in the business of ‘deception’ to further their careers, or the careers of others. The media then picks up on the deception and feeds it out to people who want to believe the worst about politicians, especially.

It’s a difficult concept for me to comprehend.  Sometimes, falsehood is evident, at other times, I appreciate a little help. That’s why I subscribe to an independent fact checking website: Fact Check.com

Here’s a little survey I took this morning  to “check” if was believing a pack of lies. I failed the test.

http://factcheck.org/survey-page/

2 Responses

  1. what a coincidence. my caregroup leader just lovingly confronted me on a similar trait, although she didn’t really use the same words. but i think she did mean to point out that i make knowledge (which i think of as “truth”) an idol. well, i feel better knowing i’m not the only one!

    • I always thought we were a lot alike!!! Yep, I had really not noticed the second half of that verse, “speaking the truth, in love” until the second half of my life, when I had hurt my family with my truthful tongue. I was pretty good with outside people. Love to you, soul sister..

Leave a Reply

