• Light A Candle

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog!

    Join 35 other subscribers
  • Blog Archive

  • Recent Posts

  • Share this blog

    Bookmark and Share
  • Categories

  • del.icio.us

  • Blog with Integrity

    BlogWithIntegrity.com

  • Facebook Badge

  • Javarain

  • August 2010
    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Blog Stats

    • 16,439 hits

Trapped by Generations of Lace Curtains: SOUL TIES?

The issue of “Soul Ties” was brought  up in counseling a few weeks ago, in reference to an old boy friend of mine. It was a passing thought, really, because I’m quite sure I did have an extremely strong attachment to ‘ONE’ for a few years after I got married, but dealt with it long ago..

No, but I do believe I’ve struggled with “Soul Ties” as my mother must have regarding ‘things’ from her past, and her inability to detach herself from family. I’ve written about her very real struggles before, and I don’t wonder that she held onto items belonging to a time when she was happy and secure.

But, as I pull out bag after bag of ancient lace curtains from generations of Wills, Hammond, Scull, Webb women I do, as I always have, begin to weaken at the mere thought of getting rid of them. They stink, they’re ecru with age, they’re probably not valuable, they’re not attractive to me..

Why, do I hang on to them?

This new thought about “Soul Ties” may be my answer!

I see no valid reason for hanging on to them.

I have a wonderful and even exciting life, full of present and future generations of family, more than enough friends and yet here I am hesitating.

If I threw them out, it feels like I would be throwing out my great, great, grandma Lucy Julianne. But, I’m not, am I? So, I’ll be exploring this idea of breaking  unhealthy “Soul Ties” with my grandmothers down the line.

Does anybody else struggle with this? Let me know how you’ve dealt with it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.